Talk to us arrow

hipchat Call
text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
video Bg

University of Portsmouth

United Kingdom
Overview

Overview

Located on England's south coast, Portsmouth is a vibrant, cosmopolitan city with some of the UK's best weather. Most university buildings are in the heart of this compact city. Everything students need is close by, including: four miles of beautiful beach excellent nightlife and entertainment and accommodation. Portsmouth welcomes 5,200 international and EU students from around 150 countries and has around 31,000 students total.

The Students' Union offers 150 sports clubs and societies for all interests, so there's always a lot of fun to be had on campus. Portsmouth is one of the UK's most affordable cities for students (NatWest Student Living Index 2020). London is just 90 minutes away, and ferries cross regularly to Europe.

The university has a five-star rating for teaching, employability, internationalisation, facilities, arts and culture, and inclusiveness (QS Top University Guide 2021).

With courses designed to meet the challenges of the competitive global jobs market, students will be well prepared for a successful career. 94 per cent of Portsmouth students are working or in further study after finishing their course (HESA Graduate Outcomes Survey conducted in 2019).

Students can choose from hundreds of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees spanning business creativity and culture humanities science and technology. Portsmouth focuses on making students more employable, with paid work placements, or opportunities to practice their skills in simulated environments like the mock courtroom. Recent research breakthroughs at the university include developing a plastic-eating enzyme to tackle pollution.

Students can enrich their experience by learning a language for free, volunteering, or exchanging with another global university. The Careers and Employability Service can connect students to opportunities including part-time work while they study and their first job after graduation.

Show more +Show less -
What's new

What's new

The University is building an outstanding new £57 million public sports centre opening in 2021 for you to play, train and compete. The superb facilities set in historic parkland include a 25m 8 lane swimming pool, 175 station fitness suite, climbing wall, ski simulator, cafe and community orchard. A range of classes and courses, personal training and very affordable membership with great benefits will be available.

Ravelin Sports Centre will be one of the UK's greenest sports centres aiming to be net zero carbon ready through creating renewable energy, maximising natural drainage and developing biodiversity.

Show more +Show less -
Teaching quality

Teaching quality

Portsmouth's expert lecturers have years of experience, in teaching and industry, and frequently in both. Many remain active in their professions, and because they're continuously developing their knowledge, they teach students all the relevant, most-recent things they need to know, so they can hit the ground running upon graduation.

The majority of Portsmouth's research is rated as 'world leading' and 'internationally excellent' by the Research Excellence Framework (REF), which independently assesses the quality of research in UK universities.

Much of the research is carried out by the same people who teach students, and thus the breakthroughs and discoveries made feed directly into their courses. Students will be exploring the latest theories and developing original ideas as part of their studies. It's not all classrooms and textbooks, at Portsmouth, students can also apply what they learn in outstanding simulated work environments and learning spaces.

Law students practice their skills in a replica court, while students from disciplines such as criminology and social work can experience being an expert witness in a simulated legal case.

Students can apply their skills in the local community too, for example dental students, who treat NHS patients in the Dental Academy and sport and exercise science students, who run coaching courses at local schools.

Show more +Show less -
Student safety

Student safety

Students are supported 24/7 by the university's Campus Security and Surveillance team, who work to ensure students are studying in a safe environment. The team is available 24 hours a day throughout the year, for emergencies and non-emergency queries. There are also CCTV cameras in most university buildings and halls which are monitored throughout the day by security officers.

The university benefits from its own university police liaison officer. Students who are a victim of a crime can report to the police officer for support. The officer is also available to meet at a weekly drop-in service on campus.

StudentWatch is a programme that aims to improve student safety and awareness. The scheme is a joint initiative with the Hampshire Constabulary and the university. Student volunteers are a point of contact for students with safety concerns and can provide support and advice on being a good neighbour, marking your property, fire safety advice, street sense and protecting property.

Show more +Show less -
Entry requirements

Entry requirements

The University of Portsmouth has course specific entry requirements, however students need to meet basic conditions for both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. Specific entry requirements are detailed on each course page. As a guide, for degree level study, applicants need to have the equivalent of:

  • 2 or 3 good 'A' Levels (GCE Advanced Level)
  • Or a recognised Access/Foundation course
  • Or an International Baccalaureate (minimum score 24)
  • Or an EDEXCEL (BTEC) National Certificate or Diploma (Merit profile)
  • Or High School Leaving Certificate, if it is deemed equivalent to 'A' Level Standard
  • Some courses have higher entry requirements, especially where they are recognised by professional bodies.

As a guide, for master's degree level applications, applicants will need to have:

  • A good degree pass in a relevant discipline or equivalent, or
  • Relevant work experience in the appropriate field

Every application is considered individually and many factors such as maturity, motivation and work experience are considered in support of the application. Applications are welcome from students with advanced standing for direct entry to Portsmouth programmes. Students should forward copies of their transcripts (in English) with their application forms, so that an assessment can be made with regard to recognition of previous study.

Students must demonstrate the necessary proficiency in English. As a general guide, the following English language requirements must be fulfilled:

  • IELTS 5.5 for foundation
  • IELTS 6.0 for undergraduate
  • IELTS 6.0 to 7.0 for postgraduate entry

Specific scores might be required depending on the course. Students who do not meet the required English language requirements may be able to gain access to the university via an International College Portsmouth (ICP) pathway programme, or by completing our pre-sessional English programme. Students can find out more about country specific requirements on the university website.

Show more +Show less -
Facilities

Facilities

Portsmouth offers excellent facilities including a model pharmacy, courtroom, forensics house, creative studios, tv studios and cutting-edge laboratories. Learning at Portsmouth is much more than just lecture theatres. For many of the courses, students work in real-life learning environments such as a courtroom or pharmacy. These simulated environments demonstrate the strong professional focus of the courses and prepare learners for employment.

As a city campus, all teaching facilities and most of the residences are in the centre of Portsmouth. The campus is made up of over 40 buildings with green grass spaces and communal areas such as cafes and shops.

All new students are guaranteed accommodation in their first year, meaning they'll be living either in the city centre or on the seafront. There are a range of accommodation options including self-catered or catered, shared bathroom or en suite and single-sex or mixed-sex flats.

Students have access to free Wi-Fi and use of thousands of PCs and laptops across the campus and in the library. The library is open 24/7 during term time and provides access to hundreds of thousands of books, e-books and journals, with extensive online access to resources.

Show more +Show less -
Scholarships & funding

Scholarships & funding

International students are expected to be fully self-supporting whilst studying at Portsmouth. Before being granted a visa to come and study in the UK, the student must submit proof of adequate financial provision. The university does however, offer a small number of scholarships exclusively for International students:

  • The Vice Chancellor's Global Development Scholarship takes the form of a GBP 1,600 fee reduction that will apply to the first year of study. Eligible students from selected countries will be automatically awarded this scholarship.
  • The Chancellor's Global Academic Merit Scholarship takes the form of a GBP 5,000 fee reduction that will apply to the first year of study. There are limited numbers available to eligible students from selected countries. This scholarship is merit based.

Eligibility varies depending on course of study and nationality. Students can find out more about the scholarships offered on the university website. Some external scholarships are available to help with the financial costs of going to university. These include the following:

  • Santander Scholarships: The scholarships, which take the form of a fee waiver are awarded on academic merit. Eligible candidates, in receipt of an unconditional offer, are invited to apply for the scholarship.
  • Chevening Scholarships: The highly sought-after scholarships are awarded to outstanding scholars with leadership potential. Awards are typically for a one-year master's degree in any subject.
  • Commonwealth Scholarships: Commonwealth Scholarship Commission supports scholarships and fellowships for postgraduate study and professional development.
  • GREAT Scholarships: GREAT Scholarships are available to students from India and China and are offered in partnership with the British Council.

Show more +Show less -
5334
International students

Average cost of living in United Kingdom

View full cost of living
501st  / 1250

THE World ranking

Top 10 reasons to choose Portsmouth
5,200 international and EU students
Engineering student
Victoria Park in the centre of the city
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
Give me the University of Portsmouth
Campus cafe
Aerial view of Portsmouth
MapDefaultImage

Total average cost: £1353

  • £472
    Housing
  • £559
    Food
  • £88
    Daily life
  • £234
    Clothing
Calculate your cost of living

To find out more about the information shown here – read about How we collect and display course information. IDP assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions in the content of this site. We always recommend that you speak to an IDP counsellor to get the latest and most accurate advice.

Please select a level of study

Enter subject, choose from the list or hit search

  • Start typing, choose from the list or hit search

  • Enter subject, choose from the list or or hit search

Please type and select an institution

  • Type 3 characters of a university name and select from the list

  • Enter a university or school name and select from the list

تحدث معنا arrow

hipchat Call
text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
video Bg

جامعة بورتسموث

United Kingdom
نظرة عامة

نظرة عامة

تقع بورتسموث على الساحل الجنوبي لإنجلترا، وهي مدينة عالمية تعج بالحياة وتتمتع بأفضل الأحوال الجوية في المملكة المتحدة. تقع معظم مباني الجامعة في قلب هذه المدينة الصغيرة والمتكاملة. كل ما يحتاجه الطلاب على مسافة قريبة، بما في ذلك: مسافة أربعة أميال من الشاطئ الجميل والأمسيات والحياة الترفيهية الممتازة والسكن. تستقبل بورتسموث 5200 طالب دولي ومن الاتحاد الأوروبي من حوالي 150 دولة وتضم حوالي 31 ألف طالب.

يقدم اتحاد الطلاب 150 نادياً وجمعية رياضية تناسب جميع الاهتمامات، لذلك هناك دائماً الكثير من المرح في الحرم الجامعي. تعد مدينة بورتسموث واحدة من أكثر مدن المملكة المتحدة من حيث التكلفة الميسورة للطلاب (NatWest Student Living Index 2020). تبعد لندن 90 دقيقة فقط، وتعبر العبارات بانتظام إلى أوروبا.

حصلت الجامعة على تصنيف خمس نجوم في فئة التدريس وفرص التوظيف والتدويل والمرافق والفنون والثقافة والشمولية (QS Top University Guide 2021).

من خلال البرامج المصممة لمواجهة تحديات سوق العمل العالمية والتي تتسم بالتنافسية، سيكون الطلاب مؤهلين جيداً للنجاح في حياتهم المهنية. يعمل 94% من طلاب بورتسموث أو يواصلون الدراسة بعد التخرج (استطلاع HESA Graduate Outcomes الذي تم إجراؤه في عام 2019).

يمكن للطلاب الاختيار من بين مئات من درجات البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا التي تشمل إدارة الأعمال والإبداع والثقافة والعلوم الإنسانية والعلوم والتكنولوجيا. تركز بورتسموث على تعزيز فرص توظيف الطلاب، من خلال توفير فرص عمل مدفوع الأجر، أو فرص لممارسة مهاراتهم في بيئات محاكاة مثل قاعات المحكمة الوهمية. تشمل الإنجازات البحثية الحديثة في الجامعة تطوير إنزيم يأكل البلاستيك لمعالجة التلوث.

يمكن للطلاب إثراء تجربتهم من خلال تعلم لغة مجاناً أو التطوع أو التبادل مع جامعة عالمية أخرى. يمكن لخدمة الوظائف والتوظيف أن توجه الطلاب للفرص المتاحة، بما في ذلك العمل بدوام جزئي أثناء الدراسة والحصول على وظيفتهم الأولى بعد التخرج.

Show more +Show less -
ما الجديد

ما الجديد

تقوم الجامعة ببناء مركز رياضي عام جديد بقيمة 57 مليون جنيه إسترليني يتم افتتاحه في عام 2021 لكي يلعب الطلاب ويتدربون ويتسابقون. وتشمل المرافق الرائعة الموجودة في الحدائق التاريخية مسبحاً بطول 25 متراً و8 حارات وجناحاً للياقة البدنية 175 محطة وجدار تسلق وجهاز محاكاة للتزلج ومقهى وبستاناً مجتمعياً. تتوفر مجموعة من الفصول والبرامج والتدريب الشخصي والعضوية بأسعار معقولة للغاية مع مزايا رائعة.

وسيكون مركز Ravelin الرياضي أحد أكثر المراكز الرياضية خضرة في المملكة المتحدة ويهدف إلى أن الوصول بمعدل انبعاثات الكربون إلى الصفر من خلال إنشاء طاقة متجددة وتعظيم الاعتماد على الصرف الطبيعي وتطوير التنوع البيولوجي.

Show more +Show less -
جودة التدريس

جودة التدريس

يتمتع المحاضرون الخبراء في بورتسموث بسنوات من الخبرة في التدريس والصناعة، ويعملون بشكل نشط في كليهما. ولأنهم يطورون باستمرار معارفهم وخبراتهم، فإنهم يعلمون الطلاب أحدث ما تم التوصل إليه في المجالات التي يحتاجون إلى معرفتها، حتى يتأهلوا للعمل والنجاح فور تخرجهم. تم تصنيف غالبية أبحاث بورتسموث على أنها "رائدة عالمياً" و"ممتازة دولياً" من قبل Research Excellence Framework (REF)، الذي يقيم بشكل مستقل جودة البحث في جامعات المملكة المتحدة.

يجري الكثير من أعضاء هيئة التدريس أبحاثاً رائدة بينما يقومون بالتدريس للطلاب، وبالتالي فإن النتائج والاكتشافات التي يتم التوصل إليها تعزز مباشرةً برامجهم الدراسية. سيقوم الطلاب باستكشاف أحدث النظريات وتطوير الأفكار الأصلية كجزء من دراستهم. والأمر لا يتعلق فقط بالمحاضرات والكتب، ففي بورتسموث، يمكن للطلاب أيضاً تطبيق ما تعلموه في بيئات العمل المتميزة بنظام المحاكاة ومساحات التعلم.

يمارس طلاب القانون مهاراتهم في محكمة طبق الأصل، بينما يمكن للطلاب من تخصصات مثل علم الجريمة والعمل الاجتماعي تجربة كونهم شاهداً خبيراً في قضية قانونية محاكاة. ويمكن للطلاب تطبيق مهاراتهم في المجتمع المحلي أيضاً، على سبيل المثال طلاب طب الأسنان الذين يعالجون مرضى NHS في أكاديمية طب الأسنان؛ وطلاب الرياضة والعلوم، الذين يديرون برامج في الكليات المحلية.

Show more +Show less -
الأقسام

الأقسام

تنقسم جامعة بورتسموث إلى خمس كليات:

كلية إدارة الأعمال والحقوق

تقدم أنشطة التدريس والبحث العلمي في جميع المجالات الرئيسية للقانون والأعمال والإدارة، بما في ذلك المحاسبة وعلوم الاقتصاد والخدمات اللوجستية وإدارة الموارد البشرية والقانون. كما تضم الكلية كلية بورتسموث لإدارة الأعمال وكلية الحقوق في بورتسموث.

كلية الصناعات الإبداعية والثقافية

تضم الكلية كلية الهندسة المعمارية وكلية الفنون والتصميم والتمثيل وكلية التقنيات الإبداعية وكلية السينما والإعلام والاتصالات. تشمل التخصصات داخل الكلية تصميم الأزياء والرسم والكتابة الإبداعية والدراسات الإعلامية والهندسة المعمارية والرسوم المتحركة والسينما وتكنولوجيا ألعاب الكمبيوتر.

كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

تقدم الكلية مواد مثل علم الجريمة وعلم الاجتماع واللغويات والتاريخ والسياسة والعلاقات الدولية والتربية والتعليم. كما تضم الكلية كلية علم الجريمة والعدلة الجنائية وكلية دراسات المناطق والتاريخ والسياسة والأدب وكلية التربية وعلم الاجتماع وكلية اللغات واللغويات التطبيقية

كلية العلوم والصحة

تقدم برامج في تخصصات مثل علوم الأرض والبيئة والجغرافيا الطبيعية والبشرية وعلم النفس وصحة الفم والأسنان والرياضة وعلوم التمرينات. تشمل الكليات والأقسام داخل الكلية كلية العلوم البيولوجية وأكاديمية طب الأسنان وكلية البيئة والجغرافيا وعلوم الأرض وكلية مهن الصحة والرعاية وكلية الصيدلة والعلوم الطبية الحيوية وقسم علم النفس وكلية الرياضة والصحة وعلوم التمرينات.

كلية التكنولوجيا

تضم الكلية كلية الهندسة المدنية والمساحة وكلية الحاسبات ومعهد علم الكونيات والجاذبية وكلية الطاقة والهندسة الإلكترونية وكلية الرياضيات والفيزياء وكلية الهندسة الميكانيكية والتصميم وقسم التعلم في العمل. تشمل المواد الدراسية داخل الكلية الهندسة وعلم الكونيات والفيزياء الفلكية والحوسبة ونظم المعلومات الصحية والرياضيات والفيزياء.

Show more +Show less -
متطلبات القبول

متطلبات القبول

تشترط جامعة بورتسموث متطلبات التحاق خاصة بكل برنامج، وعلى الطلاب أيضاً استيفاء الشروط الأساسية لكل من برامج البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا. يمكن الاطلاع بالتفصيل على متطلبات القبول في الصفحة الخاصة بكل برنامج. كدليل إرشادي، لدراسة برامج الدرجات، يجب أن يكون لدى المتقدمين ما يعادل:

  • 2 أو 3 من مستويات "A" جيدة (المستوى المتقدم من GCE)
  • أو برنامج وصول/تمهيدي معترف به
  • أو البكالوريا الدولية (الحد الأدنى للدرجات 24)
  • أو شهادة EDEXCEL (BTEC) الوطنية أو دبلومة (سجل الجدارة)
  • أو شهادة الثانوية العامة، إذا كانت تعتبر معادلة لمعيار المستوى "A"
  • بعض البرامج لها متطلبات دخول أعلى، خاصةً تلك المعترف بها من قبل هيئات مهنية.

كدليل إرشادي، بالنسبة لطلبات الالتحاق بدرجة الماجستير، سيحتاج المتقدمون إلى:

  • النجاح بدرجة جيدة في تخصص ذي صلة أو ما يعادله، أو
  • خبرة عمل ذات صلة في المجال المطلوب

يتم النظر في كل طلب على حدة ويتم النظر في العديد من العوامل، مثل النضج والدافع والخبرة العملية لدعم طلب الالتحاق. نرحب بطلبات التقديم من الطلاب ذوي المراكز المتقدمة للالتحاق المباشر ببرامج بورتسموث. يجب على الطلاب إرسال نسخ من شهادات درجاتهم (باللغة الإنجليزية) مع نماذج الطلبات الخاصة بهم، بحيث يمكن إجراء تقييم فيما يتعلق بالاعتراف بالدراسة السابقة.

يجب على الطلاب إثبات إجادة اللغة الإنجليزية بالشكل المطلوب. كدليل إرشادي عام، يجب استيفاء متطلبات اللغة الإنجليزية التالية:

  • IELTS 5.5 للبرامج التمهيدية
  • 6.0 IELTS لبرامج البكالوريوس
  • IELTS 6.0 إلى 7.0 لبرامج الدراسات العليا

قد يشترط الحصول على درجات محددة اعتماداً على البرنامج المطلوب. قد يتمكن الطلاب الذين لا يستوفون متطلبات اللغة الإنجليزية المطلوبة من الالتحاق بالجامعة عبر البرنامج التمهيدي للكلية الدولية في بورتسموث (ICP)، أو من خلال إكمال برنامج اللغة الإنجليزية التمهيدي لدينا. يمكن للطلاب معرفة المزيد حول المتطلبات الخاصة بكل بلد على موقع الجامعة.

Show more +Show less -
المرافق والخدمات

المرافق والخدمات

تقدم بورتسموث مرافق وخدمات ممتازة، بما في ذلك نماذج صيدليات وقاعة محاكم ودار للطب الشرعي واستوديوهات إبداعية واستوديوهات تلفزيونية ومختبرات متطورة. التعلم في بورتسموث هو أكثر بكثير من مجرد قاعات محاضرات. ففي العديد من البرامج، يعمل الطلاب في بيئات تعلم واقعية، مثل قاعة محكمة أو صيدلية. تُظهر هذه البيئات بنظام المحاكاة التوجه المهني القوي للبرامج وتأهيل الطلاب للنجاح في سوق العمل.

باعتباره حرماً جامعياً في المدينة، تقع جميع المرافق التعليمية ومعظم المساكن في وسط بورتسموث. ويتكون الحرم الجامعي من أكثر من 40 مبنىً مع مساحات عشبية خضراء ومناطق عامة، مثل المقاهي والمتاجر.

يُضمن لجميع الطلاب الجدد الحصول على سكن في عامهم الأول، ما يعني أنهم سيقيمون إما في وسط المدينة أو على شاطئ البحر. وهناك مجموعة من خيارات الإقامة، بما في ذلك نظام الخدمة الذاتية أو الخدمات المتكاملة أو الحمام المشترك أو الحمام الخاص والشقق أحادية الجنس أو مختلطة الجنس.

ويمكن للطلاب الوصول إلى شبكة Wi-Fi مجانية واستخدام الآلاف من أجهزة الكمبيوتر الشخصية وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة في جميع أنحاء الحرم الجامعي وفي المكتبة. المكتبة مفتوحة على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع خلال فترة الدراسة وتوفر إمكانية الوصول إلى مئات الآلاف من الموارد والكتب الإلكترونية والمجلات، مع وصول واسع النطاق عبر الإنترنت إلى الموارد.

Show more +Show less -
سلامة الطلاب

سلامة الطلاب

يتم دعم الطلاب على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع من قبل فريق أمن ومراقبة الحرم الجامعي بالجامعة، الذين يعملون لضمان توفر بيئة آمنة للطلاب. والفريق متاح على مدار 24 ساعة طوال العام، لحالات الطوارئ والاستفسارات غير الطارئة. كما توجد كاميرات CCTV في معظم مباني وقاعات الجامعة يتم مراقبتها على مدار اليوم من قبل ضباط الأمن.

وتستفيد الجامعة من خدمة مسؤول الاتصال بالشرطة المتاحة للطلاب. حيث يمكن للطلاب الذين يقعوا ضحية لأي جريمة إبلاغ ضابط الشرطة للحصول على المساعدة والدعم. والضابط متاح أيضاً للقاء أثناء خدمة توصيل أسبوعية في الحرم الجامعي.

StudentWatch هو برنامج يهدف إلى تحسين سلامة الطلاب ووعيهم. والبرنامج هو مبادرة مشتركة مع شرطة هامبشاير والجامعة. حيث يكون الطلاب المتطوعون هم نقطة اتصال للطلاب الذين لديهم مخاوف تتعلق بالسلامة ويمكنهم تقديم الدعم والمشورة فيما يتعلق بحسن الجيرة ووضع علامات مميزة على ممتلكاتك وإرشادات السلامة من الحرائق وأجواء الشوارع وحماية الممتلكات.

Show more +Show less -
5334
الطلاب الدوليون

United Kingdom متوسط تكلفة المعيشة في

عرض تكلفة المعيشة بالكامل
501st  / 1250

تصنيف التايمز للجامعات العالمية

Top 10 reasons to choose Portsmouth
5,200 international and EU students
Engineering student
Victoria Park in the centre of the city
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
At University of Portsmouth
Give me the University of Portsmouth
Campus cafe
MapDefaultImage

إجمالي متوسط التكلفة:£١٣٥٣

  • £472
    السكن
  • £559
    الطعام
  • £88
    الحياة اليومية
  • £234
    ملابس
احسب تكلفة المعيشة

لمعرفة المزيد عن المعلومات المذكورة هنا اقرأ عن كيفية تجميعنا وعرضنا لمعلومات البرنامج الدراسي. لا تتحمل آي دي بي أية مسؤولية عن أي أخطاء أو سهو في محتوى هذا الموقع. ونوصيك دائماً بالتحدث إلى مستشارينا للحصول على أحدث وأدق النصائح.

ببرجاء اختيار مستوى الدراسة

اقم بإدخال المادة، اختر من القائمة أو انقر للبحث

  • اابدأ في الكتابة، واختر من القائمة أو انقر للبحث

  • اقم بإدخال المادة، اختر من القائمة أو انقر للبحث

برجاء كتابة واختيار اسم المؤسسة

  • اكتب 3 حروف من اسم الجامعة واختر من القائمة

  • اكتب اسم الجامعة أو المدرسة واختر من القائمة