text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Language:
語言:
语言:
IDP IELTS: Register/ View testdate   |  Call us: 2179 3600 | WhatsApp: 5148 8870

UK Education System

The UK is recognised around the world for its teaching excellence. Let's look at why.

Looking at the world university rankings, the UK has a proven track record. In the 2017-18 Times Higher Education World University Rankings, University of Oxford and University of Cambridge ranked number one and two respectively, with Imperial College London at number eight. Across global ranking systems, the criteria and fields for the study in the UK ranks highly for quality of education, student satisfaction and global reputation.

Then there’s the UK’s incredible reputation for innovation and world-class research You will benefit from the latest facilities alongside a long-standing academic tradition. Many students choose the UK higher education system to perfect their English and improve their employability.

How it works

Within the UK, the responsibility for education is devolved to each of the four jurisdictions: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. There are differences between the four countries within the UK such as how educational systems are regulated. The differences are most apparent in general and secondary education. As a result, there are several different qualifications and credit frameworks.

Qualifications framework

There are two parallel frameworks used in relation to higher education qualifications from UK degree-awarding bodies. One framework applies to Scotland Whilst the other operates in the rest of the UK. These are:

  • The Framework for Higher Education Qualifications of Degree Awarding Bodies in England, Wales and Northern Ireland (FHEQ)
  • The Framework for Qualifications of Higher Education Institutions in Scotland (FQHEIS).

These frameworks are principal national reference points for academic standards in the UK’s higher education institutions. There are 160 universities and colleges in the UK which are permitted to award a wide variety of degrees to suit most educational aspirations.

Fees and scholarships

Tuition fees for UK higher education and further education courses vary, depending on:

  • where in the UK you choose to study (there are different rules for England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales)

  • your study level.

For undergraduate students, tuition fees can range from £10,000 a year to about £18,000 a year, depending on the course and the institution. For all postgraduate courses, tuition fees vary by course provider.

Scholarships

There are a number of financial support options for international students who wish to study in the UK including: scholarships, grants, bursaries, fellowships, financial awards, loans –. Demand for a scholarships is always greater than supply; so ensure you maximise your chances, you should apply as early as you can.

A great starting point for students to start researching potential support options is ‘Study UK’. Students can also review the particular websites for the schools / universities they are interested in. Look for financial support well in advance of the start date of your course. It can be particularly hard to find funding, especially midway through the academic year.

Teaching and learning style

A UK education has a reputation for excellence and most international students rate the quality of teaching they receive very high. You can expect to be taught in a variety of ways. However, most students attend lectures and seminars, sometimes having tutorials and workshops.

During your studies in the UK, you are likely to be given a lot of freedom to explore your own ideas and to be creative. You may be expected to be an active member of the learning and teaching process, where you will do your own research or work in groups alongside other students for some projects. UK universities encourage the development of analytical and critical thinking in every subject, which can be initially somewhat daunting for some international students. However, this develops the required communications skills along with a deeper understanding of the subject.

A UK education is interactive, too. Tutors will encourage you to share your ideas and may well organise activities, such as debates, discussions and quizzes. The idea being that by having fun and getting involved, you will learn more successfully. This way of learning can feel daunting at first, but you will receive a lot of support from your tutors and with a little time should soon feel at ease. The ‘Prepare for Success’ website is a great resource that provides you with a lot of information about what classes and teaching in the UK are like, as well as other advice on how to succeed in your studies.

Higher education

Most institutions offer a variety of pathways for both domestic and international students to help make the transition into further education; these programmes are typically referred to as pathways or foundation courses.

Higher education courses can be taken by students to earn an advanced degree in order to continue their studies in the UK. There are three main categories of higher education courses, which lead to bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees.

A Bachelor’s or undergraduate degree

Your academic studies on an undergraduate degree are designed to help you gain a thorough understanding of the subject. Degrees are classified as either ordinary or honours. An ‘ordinary’ degree is usually a three-year full-time course, whereas an ‘honours’ degree is usually a four-year full-time course.

Postgraduate study

If you are finishing your bachelor’s degree, how do you decide if undertaking postgraduate studies in the UK is right for you? Deciding to proceed to postgraduate studies is a big step. It means taking more time and staying out of the workforce a bit longer, but it can be worthwhile in the long term.

Pathway programmes

There are many pathway programmes leading into higher education for international students including foundation studies and English language preparation programmes. These programmes ensure students receive the extra support and assistance they need to succeed.

Academic year

In the UK, the standard academic year starts in September / October and runs until June / July. However, some courses can be more flexible offering a range of start dates. The typical deadline for applications for an undergraduate course starting in September is in the preceding January of the same year. There may also be a smaller January intake that has limited undergraduate, master’s, PhD and foundation courses available. Private pathway providers may offer additional start dates throughout the year.

Learning English

The UK is the number one destination worldwide for English language study (Study Travel Magazine, December 2012). The UK has long been at the forefront of language learning and teaching and has pioneered many of the teaching techniques now used around the world. The emphasis is on learning through participation and fun instead of just listening to the teacher. Classes involve discussions, problem solving and games. Students may also listen to songs, watch television or read magazines in order to practise their comprehension skills. Many English language courses are offered by universities and colleges to help international students prepare for a degree course in the UK. Universities call these degree preparation programmes ‘pre-sessional English courses’.

The UK Government has announced important changes to language testing for visa applications: reducing the number of tests which are accepted for visa purposes and bringing in new requirements for the way these tests are administered. IELTS, the world’s most popular high-stakes test of English for higher education and global migration, is approved as proof of the level of English for all UK visas.

IELTS Academic, IELTS General Training and IELTS Life Skills are all accepted by UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) as proof of English proficiency. However, it is your purpose for being in the UK which determines the type of IELTS test you need to take. Your IDP counsellor will advise you on this.

After graduation

Many international students wish to remain in the UK after they graduate in order to put the skills they have learnt into practice. You may be able to extend your stay if you meet the requirements for the schemes that the UK Government operates.

The schemes that are most applicable for students who have finished their studies include the following:

Tier 1 (Graduate Entrepreneur)

This scheme is aimed at recent graduates and postdoctoral researchers who already have Tier 2 immigration permission and who have “genuine and credible business ideas and entrepreneurial skills” and whose UK college or university is prepared to endorse them under this scheme to help them develop these business ideas.

Tier 1 (Entrepreneur)

This scheme requires the student to invest in a business in the UK. The student does not need a sponsor or an endorsing body.

Tier 2

This scheme is the main route to take if the student would like to take up employment in the UK. The lowest salary for this scheme is £20,800. In most cases, employers are not required to show that they have advertised the job and that no one else could do this job (resident labour market test) before offering this position to the student.

Tier 5 (Temporary Worker)

This scheme allows students to undertake specific types of work in the UK for a period of one or two years, depending on the scheme. The student must have a Tier 5 sponsor under the scheme of relevance to the student. The student’s Tier 5 sponsor must issue a certificate of sponsorship before the student can make an immigration application.

Tier 4 Doctorate Extension Scheme

This scheme allows a new PhD graduate to spend one year in the UK after their PhD studies to undertake employment or self-employment. The student must apply before they finish their doctoral degree.

Please select qualification levels

Enter a subject and select from the list

  • Type 1 character of a subject name and select from the list

  • Enter a course subject and select from the list

Please type and select an institution

  • Type 1 character of a university name and select from the list

  • Enter a university or school name and select from the list

text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Language:
語言:
语言:
IDP IELTS: 立即報考 / 查看考期 | 聯絡我們: 2179 3600 | WhatsApp: 5148 8870

英國教育制度知多點

英國以卓越教學聞名於世,我們現在就來找出原因吧。

英國大學在國際排名中一直保持驕人成績。在2017 – 2018年度泰晤士高等教育世界大學排名中,University of Oxford 及 University of Cambridge分別位居第一及第二,Imperial College London排名第八。在全球多個不同評級系統、準則及範疇中,英國均以其優質教育、學生滿意度及國際性口碑奪得好成績。
英國亦以創新及世界級研究而聞名,你將感受到現代設備與學術傳統的完美結合。不少學生為了提升英語技能及就業機會而到英國接受高等教育。

英國的大學是怎麼一回事?
英國的教育義務由四個區域(英格蘭、北愛爾蘭、蘇格蘭及威爾斯)承擔。四個區域的教育制度、頒授學歷及監管方法均有所不同,當中以普通及中學教育差別最大。因此英國有不同學術資歷及學分架構。

資歷架構

英國有兩個並行的高等教育資歷架構,分別適用於蘇格蘭及英國其餘地區。它們分別是:

  • The Framework for Higher Education Qualifications of Degree Awarding Bodies in England, Wales and Northern Ireland (FHEQ)

  • The Framework for Qualifications of Higher Education Institutions in Scotland (FQHEIS)


上述架構是英國高等教育的全國性學術標準指引。全英國共有160所院校符合資格,可頒授不同學科的學位。

費用及獎學金
英國高等教育及進一步教育課程的費用不等,視乎:
升學地區(英格蘭、蘇格蘭、北愛爾蘭及威爾斯有不同規條)

課程程度
視乎課程及院校,學士課程的費用一般為每年£10,000 - £18,000 英鎊。不同院校的研究生課程學費亦會不同。

獎學金
獎學金、補助金、助學金、研究基金、獎金、學生貸款…在英國升學的國際學生有不少經濟援助可選擇。獎學金的申請人數總比供應多,因此你應儘早申請。

要尋找可行支援,你可從Study UK著手,或瀏覽所選院校的網頁。你在課程開始前便應儘早開始搜查。要尋找經濟援助 (特別是在學期中) 可不是易事,因此宜儘早行動。

教與學模式
英國教育素以卓越質素聞名,大部分國際學生均十分滿意這裡的教學質素。你將接觸到多種教學模式。課程大多以講課及研討會形式上課,有時亦會附以導修及工作坊。
英國課堂可讓你自由發揮創意及發掘新意念。你需主動參與整個教學過程,如自行進行研究或以小組形式工作等。英國大學的不同學科均著重批判性及分析性思考。這對一些國際學生而言可能較陌生,但將有效提升學生的溝通技巧及對學科的了解。
英國教育亦著重互動。導師將鼓勵你發表意見,並安排辯論、討論及小測驗等不同活動,透過生動有趣的課堂令學習更得心應手。這種學習模式一開始可能較難適應,但在導師協助下情況將大大改善。Prepare for Success此網站介紹了英國的課堂和教學模式,並附有成功小秘訣,對你在英國的學習生活有極大幫助。

高等教育

大部分升學國家均有不少途徑供當地及國際學生銜接進一步教育,這些課程稱為銜接課程或基礎課程。

想在英國升讀高等學位的學生可報讀高等教育課程。高等教育分為學士、碩士及博士學位三種。

學士學位
就讀學士課程將令學生對學科有透徹認識。學位分為「普通」及「榮譽」。普通學位為三年全日制課程,榮譽學位則為四年全日制課程。

研究生課程
完成學士課程後,在英國升讀研究生課程是否就是你人生旅途的下一站呢?報讀研究生課程是個重大抉擇,你將犧牲更多時間,亦不能全職工作,但同時也可能是個極佳的長線投資。

銜接課程
國際學生亦可選擇銜接高等教育的課程,如大學基礎課程及英語基礎課程等,以獲得額外支援及協助。

學年
英國學年一般於九月或十月開始,至六月或七月結束。部分課程則較靈活,或有其他開始日期。一般於九月開學的大學學士課程報名截止日期為該年一月。部分學士、碩士、博士或基礎課程亦會於一月招生,而私營銜接課程機構也可能在其他月份展開課程。

英語學習
英國是全球最佳英語學習國家(2012年12月號Study Travel Magazine)。這裡的語言教學技巧一直領先同儕,全球各國爭相仿傚。有別於傳統講課,英國的語言學習著重樂趣及參與,課堂包含遊戲、解難及討論等環節,學生也可以透過聽音樂、看電視或雜誌來訓練閱讀技巧。不少大學均提供英語課程助國際學生準備到英國升讀學位課程。大學稱這類課程為「英語準備課程」。
英國政府早前公佈申請簽證的英語測試有重大變更,包括減少認可測試數量及制定新的測試管理規則。IELTS為全球最受歡迎的高風險型英語測試,適用於申請高等教育及移民,更是獲所有英國簽證認可的英語能力證明。
英國簽證與移民局(UKVI)認可IELTS學術測試、IELTS通用測試及IELTS生活技能測試作英語技能證明。所需IELTS測試類型取決於學生前往英國的目的。

畢業出路

大部分國際學生畢業後均希望留在英國實踐所學。若符合英國政府的簽證計劃要求,學生將可延長逗留時間。

與畢業生有關的簽證計劃如下:

等級一 畢業生企業家簽證
適用於近期畢業的學生及持有等級二簽證許可的博士後研究員。此類別人士須擁有「真實及可信的營商意念和企業專長」,並獲其畢業英國院校支持創業。

等級一 企業家簽證
此簽證要求學生於英國投資業務。學生不需提供贊助人或支持者。

等級二 工作簽證
適用於一般學生就業。此簽證的年薪門檻為£20,800英鎊。根據工種不同,工資可能會高於此金額。一般而言,僱主不需證明已進行招聘而無法聘請當地僱員 (即無需進行當地勞工市場檢測) 。

等級五 臨時僱員簽證
適用於在英國從事一年或兩年(視乎類別)特別工作的學生。學生必須擁有相關的等級五擔保人。此擔保人需在學生申請簽證時提供工作擔保證書。

等級四 博士延期簽證計劃
適用於剛畢業的博士畢業生。他們將獲准畢業後於英國逗留一年從事一般或自僱工作。學生必須於畢業前申請簽證。

請選擇資歷等級

輸入科目並從列表中選擇

  • 請輸入課程科目的首1個字符,然後從列表中選擇

  • 輸入課程科目,然後從列表中選擇

請輸入及選擇院校

  • 輸入大學名稱的首1個字符,然後從列表中選擇

  • 輸入大學或院校名稱,然後從列表中選擇